top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilya

Thoughts: why I write

Why do I like writing? Well, maybe because for once I get to choose the story, the words, the plot and everything else. When I’m writing I’m in charge. If I don’t like something, I change it. I like being in control and choosing my own story. I like having a say! And most importantly, I like having someone to listen (well in this case read) to what I have to say. I’ve reached several points during my life that I felt “out of control” as if people were choosing things for me. But for once, I want to make my own storyline. And with writing, no one can stop me from doing that. Freedom of speech! You see, when you write, you can tell a story from your perspective, without anyone interrupting your thoughts. And you know when you’re trying to explain yourself but the words don’t come out correctly? Well, when you write you can stop and think, and even go back and change something you don’t like. It’s almost utopian because you can make everything perfect for your desire. When you write, no one can stop you, you get to choose your reality. At times I felt like people were taking my decisions for me, and I had no say. While here I have a say. Here I have plenty of says. You see, I can write about whatever I want, and whoever wants to read it will read it. I have the power to describe to you a complete stranger, and unless you know them, my perspective is the only one you have. Therefore, the way I describe them becomes your reality of this person.


I have little to no control over my life at the moment. I can control if I study for a test, or if I ditch school, or lie to my parents about where I am. But when I come to big decisions, I can just sit and watch. Even if those decisions are about me and my future, my opinion seems to count little to nothing. The things I want to do and the things I don’t want to do, no one seems to care. And why should I care if I have no control? Why should I care if it wasn’t me that took the decision. At my age, all I can do is sit and watch as life passes. I have no luxury to choose what I want to do or how I want people to act, in fact, most of us don’t. But when it comes to a blank piece of paper, I can tell whatever story I want, make any character act a specific way, choose people’s reaction, and much more. When I’m writing, I’m in control. I’m in control of the utopia I create on the piece of paper and damn how I like being in control. If you’ve never tried it you really should. Sit down, but instead of watching things go pass you, write your own story and make our own decisions. Take control of your mini reality, because after all, it’s yours and no one else’s.



0 comments
bottom of page