top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilya

Cecilya with a "y"

As you probably figured, I'm Cecilya. Yes, just Cecilya, no last names.

This is the part where I'm supposed to tell you about me, but here it doesn't work like that.

I'll tell you a few things, and you'll get to form your opinion of me. Kind of like a puzzle, but there's no right or wrong piece, so enjoy building. This is your second piece...


Cecilya with a "y"


Cecilia, Cecelia, Cicilia, Sisilia, are many of the ways people have tried to spell my name. For years it used to bother me that no one knew how to write "Cecilya", but as I grew older it started to bother me less. It became a joke to me, and a great way of confusing my teachers when I had to write my name on exams.

Many people ask me why my name as a "y", and I just tell them to ask my father, because I don't know why my name as a "y". Why the "y"? How am I even supposed to write my nickname? Ceci, Cecy or just Cece? Damn it this stupid "y"! Why couldn't I just be the normal Cecilia?

Your name is the most common way to identify you, and I was Cecilya with a "y". To not leave me alone with the "y", my sisters also got one in their names, Dany and Letycia. They are still too young to consider the "y", but once they do I'll be able to teach them the beauties of the "y", because "y" not?

Most people say Cecilia is an old person's name, but I'm not Cecilia, I'm Cecilya. Cecilya is more lively, the word "lively" itself even has a "y" even. Instead of asking myself, why the "y"? I asked asking, why not the "y"? That stupid annoying "y" is part of me, I don't know why but it is. Everyone has something that makes them different, from a beauty mark to the way your name is written, we all have something that makes us unique (or unYque). The Kardashians have the "k", and I have my "y", and I'm sure you have your own something as well. So embrace it, because in a world with 7.7 billion people, you would want to have something that makes you, you.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page